Regretfully Thomas Dausgaard has withdrawn from the BBC SSO’s City Halls concert on Thursday 13 January. We are very grateful to Geoffrey Paterson [pictured] for taking his place at short notice.  

In a message to BBC SSO players and staff, Thomas Dausgaard said: “It has been very exciting to put together our Spring season with lots of inspiring projects for us to do together. Unfortunately it is clear the world in 2022 is not yet as stable as we might have hoped, and with the continuing health risks and responsibilities we must all face, travelling at this moment in the pandemic is sadly not an option for me. It is therefore with enormous regret that I have decided that I cannot join you in Scotland at this time.”

Geoffrey Paterson studied composition with Alexander Goehr at Cambridge and then at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (now the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland). He won First Prize and Audience Prize at the 2009 Leeds Conductors Competition. He participated in masterclasses with Pierre Boulez in Luzern, and assisted Antonio Pappano, Mark Elder, Andris Nelsons and Daniele Gatti whilst at Covent Garden, and Kirill Petrenko at Bayreuth for two seasons.

The repertoire for next Thursday’s concert remains unchanged with Julian Jacobson giving the World Premiere of Erika Fox’s new BBC commission, David spielt vor Saul. The concert also includes Bartók’s Divertimento and Nielsen’s Third Symphony with soloists Elizabeth Watts (soprano) and Benjamin Appl (baritone).      

The concert will go ahead under the Scottish Government’s current guidelines for public events, including a limited capacity audience at one metre distancing. Ticket holders will be contacted shortly by the box office.  The concert will also be recorded for broadcast on BBC Radio 3 at a future date.

Thursday 13 January, 7.30pm

City Halls, Glasgow

BARTÓK              Divertimento for string orchestra

ERIKA FOX          David spielt vor Saul (BBC commission, World Premiere)

NIELSEN              Symphony No.3, ‘Sinfonia espansiva’

Julian Jacobson piano

Elizabeth Watts soprano

Benjamin Appl baritone

Geoffrey Paterson conductor