Asmik Grigorian [pictured] replaces Sonya Yoncheva in Tchaikovsky’s “Iolanta”
Sonya Yoncheva has had to cancel her participation in the concert performances of Tchaikovsky’s Iolanta with
the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Kirill Petrenko at the Philharmonie Berlin due to influenza. She was
to perform the title role in the concerts on 12, 14 and 15 January.
She will be replaced by the Lithuanian soprano Asmik Grigorian, who has already been acclaimed in this role at
Oper Frankfurt. The rest of the cast remains unchanged. In these performances, Asmik Grigorian makes her
debut with the Berliner Philharmoniker.
The Berliner Philharmoniker are very grateful to Asmik Grigorian for stepping in at such short notice.

Wed 12.01.22 20:00
Fri 14.01.22 20:00
Sat 15.01.22 19:00
Philharmonie Berlin, main auditorium
Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko conductor
Asmik Grigorian soprano (Iolanta)
Mika Kares bass (King René)
Liparit Avetisyan tenor (Vaudémont)
Igor Golovatenko baritone (Robert)
Michael Kraus baritone (Ibn-Hakia)
Anna Denisova soprano (Brigitta)
Victoria Karkacheva contralto (Marta)
Dmitry Ivanchey tenor (Alméric)
Nikolay Didenko bass (Bertrand)
Rundfunkchor Berlin
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Iolanta op. 69