­­­­­­­Live streamed from Stockholm Konserthuset
on 18 October
­­­­­­­Stockholm is preparing to welcome Yo-Yo Ma to receive the 2022 Birgit Nilsson Prize and audiences worldwide are invited to join the Prize Ceremony, streamed live for free on Konserthuset Play on 18 October at 18.00 CEST.­­­­
­­­­­­­Yo-Yo Ma will be presented with the Birgit Nilsson Prize by His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf in a ceremony and musical celebration featuring the Royal Stockholm PhilharmonicSwedish Radio Choir and Royal Swedish Opera Choir. ­­­­
­­­­­­­As supporting and inspiring the next generation is a priority for both Yo-Yo Ma and the Birgit Nilsson Foundation, three young artists have been invited to participate as soloists: Amalie Stalheim plays an excerpt from Anders Hillborg’s cello concerto and recent Birgit Nilsson Stipendium artists, Johanna Wallroth (soprano) and Emma Sventelius (mezzo-soprano), perform the closing Terzett and Finale from Richard Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier with internationally acclaimed soprano Maria Bengsston in the role of Marschallin.­­­­
­­­­­­­During Yo-Yo Ma’s visit to Stockholm he will also meet with young cellists from across the country (aged 11 – 17), invited to hear him perform in concert on 16 October with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and Alan Gilbert.­­­­
­­­­­­­The Birgit Nilsson Prize is the largest prize in classical music and is awarded to artists and institutions who have contributed an important chapter to music history. Previous recipients are Plácido Domingo, Riccardo Muti, The Vienna Philharmonic and Nina Stemme. Yo-Yo Ma is the first instrumentalist to receive the Prize.­­­­
­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Read more about the Prize and Birgit Nilsson’s legacy:
18 October, 18.00 CEST
Stockholm Konserthus
2022 Birgit Nilsson Prize Award Ceremony
In honour of Yo-Yo Ma

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra – Patrik Ringborg, conductor
Swedish Radio Choir – Kaspars Putnins, conductor
Royal Swedish Opera Chorus
Amalie Stalheim, cello
Johanna Wallroth, soprano
Maria Bengtsson, soprano
Emma Sventelius, mezzo-soprano

Link to live stream: