Debut Sounds – Solo.Tutti.

This year’s LPO Young Composers scheme culminates on Thursday 14 July at Queen Elizabeth Hall at 7:30pm with its annual Debut Sounds concert. 2022’s concert is entitled “Solo.Tutti.” I’ve attached some info on each composer.

The LPO is committed to supporting the next generation of orchestral musicians and composers through professional development opportunities. LPO Young Composers specifically aims to find and support the progression of talented orchestral composers, offering a platform to develop their compositional voice and wider industry knowledge, under the mentorship of the LPO’s Composer-in-Residence.

This year’s Debut Sounds concert sees the premiere of five new concertos for violin, piccolo double bass, clarinet and viola. Each composer worked closely with their soloist, providing another valuable opportunity for mentoring.

The composers and their pieces are:

  • Rafael Marino Arcaro Violin Concerto performed by First Violinist Kate Oswin
  • Conrad Asman Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra performed by Principal Piccolo Stewart McIlwham
  • Alex Ho Splinter performed by Co-Principal Double Bass Sebastian Pennar
  • Yunho Jeong Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra ‘Der vogel kämpft sich aus dem ei…’ performed by Principal Clarinet Benjamin Mellefont
  • Angela Elizabeth SlaterThrough the Fading Hour performed by Co-Principal Viola Richard Waters

Each composer has received four one-to-one seminars with Dean; an exploratory workshop with their soloist; a three-hour orchestral workshop in the Spring to allow participants to experiment with new ideas, talk to players and receive feedback; professional development sessions and opportunities to engage with artists working with the LPO; and further workshop/rehearsals with the ensemble in the lead up to the concert.

September Concerts

Season Opener – Gardner conducts Gurrelieder, Saturday 24 September 2022, 7pm

Schoenberg Gurrelieder

Edward Gardner conductor

Lise Lindstrom Tove

Karen Cargill Wood-Dove

David Butt Philip Waldemar

Robert Murray Klaus the Fool

James Creswell Peasant

London Philharmonic Choir

Members of the London Symphony Chorus

A Place to Call Home

Reflecting the narratives of our time, particularly the ongoing war in Ukraine, a recurring theme of the season is our connection to the issues of belonging and displacement. We firmly believe that music cannot and should not stand in a bubble, untouched by what is going on in the world.

In fact, this was uppermost in our minds when the 22/23 season was being conceived 2/3 years ago. ‘A Place to Call Home’ brings together works by a range of composers from over the last couple of hundred years whose experiences of war, displacement, racism and exile has influenced their music profoundly. We will also explore music by those who celebrated their homeland.

Exiles and Dreamers, Wednesday 28 September 2022, 7:30pm
Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet (Fantasy Overture)
Dutilleux Correspondances
Walker Lilacs
Dvořák Symphony No. 7
Edward Gardner conductor
Jennifer France soprano
The inspiration for Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 came from the culture and aspirations of his native Bohemia, whilst the central movement of Dutilleux’s Correspondances is based on passages from a letter by Russian author Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn to cellist Mstislav Rostropovich and his wife, soprano Galina Vishnevskaya. They sheltered the writer in their house just before he was expelled from his native country in 1974. Rostropovich, a public opponent of the Soviet Union, his wife Vishnevskaya and Solzhenitsyn were eventually stripped of their Soviet citizenship.
Grand Passions, High Ideals, Saturday 1 October 2022, 7:30pm
Wagner Overture, Tannhäuser
Vijay Iyer Human Archipelago (world premiere)
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 5 (Reformation)
Edward Gardner conductor
Inbal Segev cello
The Orchestra and soloist Inbal Segev give the world premiere of Vijay Iyer’s Human Archipelago, a cello concerto concerned with the entanglement of climate change and forced migration. It takes its name from a book which pairs award-winning author Teju Cole’s words and celebrated photographer Fazal Sheikh’s luminous photographs. It came about through Cole and Sheikh’s distress at increasing xenophobia and authoritarian politics around the world.