Concert follows a year of mentoring with LPO Composer-in-Residence Brett Dean, workshops and professional development

This year’s London Philharmonic Orchestra (LPO) Young Composers scheme culminates on Thursday 14 July at Queen Elizabeth Hall at 7:30pm with its annual Debut Sounds concert. This year it is entitled ‘Solo.Tutti.’ The 2021/22 cohort has created five new concertos for soloists from the main Orchestra, guided and conducted by LPO Composer-in-Residence Brett Dean.

The LPO is committed to supporting the next generation of orchestral musicians and composers through professional development opportunities. LPO Young Composers specifically aims to find and support the progression of talented orchestral composers, offering a platform to develop their compositional voice and wider industry knowledge all under the mentorship of the LPO’s Composer-in-Residence.

This year’s Debut Sounds concert sees the premiere of five new concertos for violin, piccolo, double bass, clarinet and viola. Each composer worked closely with their soloist, providing another valuable opportunity for mentoring.

The composers and their pieces are:

  • Rafael Marino Arcaro Violin Concerto performed by First Violinist Kate Oswin
  • Conrad Asman Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra performed by Principal Piccolo Stewart McIlwham
  • Alex Ho Splinter performed by Co-Principal Double Bass Sebastian Pennar
  • Yunho Jeong Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra ‘Der vogel kämpft sich aus dem ei…’ performed by Principal Clarinet Benjamin Mellefont
  • Angela Elizabeth Slater Through the Fading Hour performed by Co-Principal Viola Richard Waters

Each work will be performed by a chamber orchestra of 30 musicians comprising LPO players and Foyle Future Firsts, the Orchestra’s development scheme for aspiring orchestral players.

At the start of the year, Dean set the Young Composers the brief to write an eight-minute concerto. He chose this musical form because of the challenges and learning opportunities it provides: the chance to fully interrogate the solo instrument and discover what its player is capable of as well as having to tackle questions of balance, architecture, musical direction, dramaturgy and purpose.

Each composer has received four one-to-one seminars with Dean; an exploratory workshop with their soloist; a three-hour orchestral workshop in the Spring to allow participants to experiment with new ideas, talk to players and receive feedback; professional development sessions and opportunities to engage with artists working with the LPO; and further workshop/rehearsals with the ensemble in the lead up to the concert.

Priority booking opens at 10am on Tuesday 10 May and general sale is from 10am on Wednesday 11 May. Tickets are available via or call the Box Office on 020 7840 4242.

The LPO Young Composers programme is generously supported by the Garrick Charitable Trust, the Stanley Picker Trust, the RVW Trust, The Marchus Trust and the Ernest von Siemens Music Foundation.

The Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme is generously funded by the Foyle Foundation with addition support from the Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust and The Thriplow Charitable Trust.

London Philharmonic Orchestra at Royal Festival Hall – Edward Gardner conducts Harrison Birtwistle’s Deep Time and, with Magdalena Kožená and Andrew Staples, Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde.