World première, Nachtergebung (Night Surrender), Concerto for Cello and Orchestra

Saturday 7 May 2022 at 7pm

Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic

Kirill Petrenko, conductor

Bruno Delepelaire, cello

Donghoon Shin         Nachtergebung (Night Surrender), Concerto for Cello and Orchestra

  1. Verfall (Decay)
  2. Trompeten (Trumpet)
  3. Winterdämmerung (Winter Dusk)
  4. Nacht (Night)
  5. Nachtergebung (Night Surrender)

“The new piece Kafka’s Dream by Donghoon Shin was a model of formal precision. It mingled moments of trance-like stillness and tumultuous forward motion, finally bringing them together in a rich, surprisingly Schoenbergian counterpoint in which the ecstasy, longing and panic of dream states was perfectly caught… The most promising new work by a young composer I’ve heard in years.”              Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph, 25 March 2019

On Saturday 7 May, the Berlin Philharmonic will mark the 50th Anniversary of the Karajan Academy with a Gala Concert, featuring the world première of Nachtergebung (Night Surrender), Concertofor Cello and Orchestra, by Donghoon Shin. The commission was the prize for winning The Karajan Academy of the Berliner Philharmoniker Claudio Abbado Composition Prize.

To reflect the Academy’s past, present and future, the anniversary concert features an orchestra formed of current scholars and former Academy students who are now members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, and led by Chief Conductor, Kirill Petrenko. Shin’s concerto is written for Bruno Delepelaire, the Orchestra’s principal cellist since 2013 and former graduate of the Karajan Academy. The concert programme opens with Mozart’s Linz Symphony under conducting scholar Nodoka Okisawa and concludes with Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony under Petrenko.