Avery Fisher Artist Program Celebrates 50th Anniversary Awarding the 2024 Avery Fisher Prize toHILARY HAHN
New York, N.Y. – On the evening of Thursday, January 11, 2024, it was announced that violinist Hilary Hahn has been awarded the 2024 Avery Fisher Prize for her outstanding artistic achievement and leadership in classical music. The announcement was made by Deborah Borda, Chair of the Avery Fisher Artist Program, from the stage of David Geffen Hall, following Ms. Hahn’s performance of Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 with the New York Philharmonic, conducted by Jakub Hrůša. The occasion also celebrates the 50th anniversary year of the Avery Fisher Artist Program.  As the 2024 Avery Fisher Prize recipient, Ms. Hahn receives a monetary award of $100,000. Her name, engraved on the Avery Fisher Legacy Wall in David Geffen Hall, formerly Avery Fisher Hall, joins the 25 previous Prize recipients: Lynn Harrell, cellist, and Murray Perahia, pianist (1975); Yo-Yo Ma, cellist (1978); Emanuel Ax, pianist (1979); Richard Goode, pianist (1980); Horacio Gutiérrez, pianist (1982); Elmar Oliveira, violinist (1983); Richard Stoltzman, clarinetist (1986); André Watts, pianist (1988); Yefim Bronfman, pianist (1991); Garrick Ohlsson, pianist (1994); violinists Sarah Chang, Pamela Frank, and Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg (1999); double bassist Edgar Meyer and clarinetist David Shifrin (2000); violinist Midori (2001); Emerson String Quartet (2004); Joshua Bell, violinist (2007); Gil Shaham, violinist (2008); Kronos Quartet (2011); Jeremy Denk, pianist (2014); Claire Chase, flutist (2017); Leila Josefowicz, violinist (2018); and Anthony McGill, clarinetist (2020). Hilary Hahn, previously the recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant in 1995 and now the 2024 Avery Fisher Prize recipient, was further honored at a celebratory post-concert dinner on the Grand Promenade of David Geffen Hall at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts by the Program’s Executive Committee, Fisher family members, and Gary Ginstling, President and CEO of the New York Philharmonic, where Hahn is the 2023-24 Mary and James G. Wallach Artist-in-Residence. The ninth violinist to be awarded an Avery Fisher Prize and the fourth recipient to be announced from the stage of David Geffen Hall, Hilary Hahn now joins the Avery Fisher Artist Program’s Recommendation Board.

Expressing what receiving this award means to her, Ms. Hahn said: “From the beginning of my career, I saw the Avery Fisher Prize as a high honor: the recipients were people who had already made a historically large impact in our field, yet had the stature, skill, and curiosity to move in any direction. When I was awarded the Avery Fisher Career Grant in 1995, when I was fifteen, it felt like a recognition that this could someday be in my future. It encouraged me to push hard to have my voice heard as an artist, to expand my horizons with new projects, and to strive to deepen the artistic meaning of my work. Having now come full circle, I feel proud of what I have achieved as an artist, and validated that that work has been seen and recognized by my community. But most important, I feel encouraged and inspired to keep forming connections and building community with audiences, composers, and fellow artists around the world.”

Fifty years ago, in 1974, the Avery Fisher Artist Program was established by the late Avery Fisher as part of a major gift to Lincoln Center and serves as a monument to Mr. Fisher’s philanthropy and love of music. The Program continues to provide recognition in two categories, the Prize and Career Grants, to outstanding U.S. instrumentalists and, since 2004, also chamber ensembles. The Prize and Career Grant recipients are chosen by the Executive Committee of the Program: Emanuel Ax, pianist; Deborah Borda, Chair, Avery Fisher Artist Program, Executive Advisor to the President and Board of Directors, New York Philharmonic, and Founder of BordaArts; Mary Lou Falcone, M.L. Falcone, Public Relations; David Finckel and Wu Han, Artistic Directors, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and Music@Menlo; Henry Fogel, Dean Emeritus and Distinguished Professor of the Arts, Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University; Anthony Fogg, Bernell Artistic Administrator of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and Director of Tanglewood; Pamela Frank, violinist; Jeremy Geffen, Executive and Artistic Director, Cal Performances; Ara Guzelimian, Artistic and Executive Director, Ojai Music Festival and Special Advisor, Office of the President, The Juilliard School; Yo-Yo Ma, cellist; Anthony McGill, clarinetist; Chad Smith, President and CEO, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Matías Tarnopolsky, President and CEO, The Philadelphia Orchestra; Shanta Thake, Ehrenkranz Chief Artistic Officer, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; and Henry Timms, President and CEO, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. Charles Avery Fisher, Nancy Fisher, and Philip Avery Kirschner are advisors to the Program. The Avery Fisher Artist Program is proud to be a constituent of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

Three-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Hilary Hahn melds expressive musicality and technical expertise with a repertoire guided by artistic curiosity. Hahn is a prolific recording artist and commissioner of new works; her 23 feature recordings have received every critical prize. She is in her third season as the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s first-ever Artist-in-Residence, and is Artist-in-Residence at the New York Philharmonic, Visiting Artist at The Juilliard School, and Curating Artist of the Dortmund Festival. This season, Hahn performs concertos by Mozart, Mendelssohn, Sibelius, Brahms, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev, Korngold, and Ginastera, as well as Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy. Hahn also gives several small-ensemble performances, including three solo recitals, recitals with Iveta Apkalna and Seth Parker Woods, and chamber concerts in Dortmund and Chicago. Hahn related to her fans naturally from the start of her career. She has committed to signings after nearly every concert and maintains a collection of fan-art received over the past 25 years. Hahn’s “Bring Your Own Baby” concerts create a welcoming environment for parents of infants to share their enjoyment of classical music with their children. Her social media initiative #100daysofpractice has transformed practice into a community-building celebration of artistic development, with nearly one million posts from fellow performers and students. Hahn is a prolific recording artist whose feature albums on Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, and Sony have all opened in the top ten of the Billboard charts; three have won Grammys. Her most recent, a recording of Ysaÿe’s six sonatas for solo violin, celebrates her artistic lineage. She is the recipient of numerous awards; most recently, she was named Musical America’s 2023 Artist of the Year, delivered the keynote speech of the Women in Classical Music Symposium, and received the 2021 Herbert von Karajan Award and the Glasshütte Original Music Festival Award, which she donated to music education nonprofit Project 440.