Following the uplifting debut of the Jess Gillam Virtual Scratch Orchestra, Classic BRIT award-winning saxophonist Jess Gillam invites singers and instrumentalists of any standard once again to come together and play music virtually with her. The second track will be Let it Be by The Beatles: the album of the same name has just marked 50 years since its release (8 May in the UK and 18 May in the USA).

The deadline for video submissions is Wednesday 27 May at 5pm BST and the video will be premiered on Saturday 6 June at 5pm BST. All audios will be used in the final video.

The Orchestra first performed David Bowie’s Where Are We Now? and it was made up of 934 musicians playing a variety of different instruments, from 26 countries with an age range of 6 to 81. You can watch it here.

Jess Gillam says: “I am very excited to launch the second project for the Virtual Scratch Orchestra!  I’d like to say a huge thank you once again to all of those who participated in the Where are We Now project, I was extremely moved to see so many entries and I was overwhelmed by the performances and messages of unity.  

Our second track will be Let it Be by the Beatles – a song universally known and loved. To me, the message the song holds is very pertinent for the time we find ourselves in; it’s one of togetherness, positivity and love. Paul McCartney had a dream that his mother (Mary), who had sadly passed away, came to him to reassure him that everything was going to be ok and to ‘let it be’. His mum had been a nurse, so I hope that this project can express a deep gratitude to the NHS and all of those working tirelessly to keep us safe. 

The Virtual Scratch Orchestra is open to anybody of any ability, any instrument. We have parts specifically designed for beginners and also parts for singers. I really hope you may be able to join us!

Taking part is easy:

  • Take a look at the parts available and download the music from her website. The instruments are not prescriptive, find a part that works for you and participate
  • Video yourself playing your part playing along to the click track. Submissions can be recorded on a smartphone or video recorder but please use headphones so only you can be heard
  • Please label your video with your name and the part you played and upload your video here before 5pm BST on Wednesday 27 May
  • Sign up to the mailing list to make sure you see the final results

All the parts will then be stitched together, with Gillam performing the solo, and the final video will be premiered on her YouTube channel on 5pm BST on Saturday 6 June.

Parts available to download:

  • Singers
  • Flute 
  • Oboe 
  • Clarinet 
  • Soprano saxophone 
  • Alto saxophone 
  • Tenor saxophone 
  • Baritone saxophone 
  • Bassoon 
  • Horn 
  • Trumpet
  • Trombone 
  • Bass trombone
  • Tuba
  • Percussion 
  • Harmony chart 
  • Guitar capo 
  • Guitar
  • Bass guitar
  • Harp
  • Keyboard/piano beginner
  • Keyboard/piano intermediate 
  • Piano 
  • Violin 
  • Viola
  • Cello 
  • Double bass
  • Beginner flute
  • Beginner oboe
  • Beginner clarinet/soprano saxophone
  • Beginner trumpet
  • Beginner violin 
  • Beginner viola
  • Beginner cello 
  • Beginner bass