London Mozart Players (LMP) have announced Jonathan Bloxham as their Conductor in Residence and Artistic Advisor. Jonathan will be working closely with LMP’s artistic team to develop their vision for the years ahead, as well as conducting key LMP concerts including those at Fairfield Halls, where the orchestra is Resident.

Jonathan commented:

“It’s an honour to be joining LMP’s musical family at this exciting time in their long and distinguished history. We’ve already had many exhilarating moments on stage and I’m really looking forward to working more closely with all the orchestra to build vivid and diverse programmes together.”

LMP’s Chief Executive, Flynn Le Brocq, commented:

“It’s wonderful that we’re able to formalise our close relationship with Jonathan, especially during the 2023/24 year when Croydon is London’s Borough of Culture. This is a very exciting time for the orchestra and I am confident that Jonathan’s expertise and vision will help us to unlock our full artistic potential”

Jonathan has a long-standing relationship with LMP, making his debut with the orchestra in November 2019 at Kings Place with a programme of Mozart, Schubert and a new commission. Since then, he has continued to have a vivid presence in the orchestra’s life. Projects have included Beethoven and Mendelssohn symphonies, Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.2 with Sheku Kanneh-Mason, Glazunov with Jess Gillam and Tchaikovsky with LMP’s Young-Artist-In-Residence, Leia Zhu.

LMP is directed by Leaders Ruth Rogers and Simon Blendis.

Ruth commented on Jonathan’s ability to ‘understand the soul of a chamber orchestra’ and is eager for Jonathan to help the orchestra ‘tread the tightrope of planning programmes by balancing innovative and imaginative initiatives with the need to keep faithful LMP audiences happy.’ Similarly, Simon is excited by Jonathan’s versatility and looks forward to many ‘electrifying concerts’ in the coming years.

Jonathan’s next appearance with LMP will be in February 2023 for Building Blochs and Birkenstocks at Fairfield Halls. They will be joined by Sheku Kanneh-Mason performing Bloch’s Schelomo and Jonathan will conduct the orchestra through Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.4. Fitting with LMP’s commitment to always including an ‘added extra’ to their own promotion concerts, Sheku and Jonathan will engage in a conversational exploration of the music during the concert, shedding new light on the performance

Full details of the season can be found on LMP’s website.

Watch Jonathan’s announcement video