Lincoln Center will partner with Polish Cultural Institute New York (PCINY) on the multi-faceted project Krzysztof Penderecki in Memoriam, honoring the life and legacy of Poland’s greatest modern composer. The New York City cultural complex will live-stream three of the concerts surrounding the one-year anniversary of Penderecki’s death on March 29, 2021. The concerts – on March 21, March 26 and April 1, 2021 – are part of the 25th Ludwig van Beethoven Easter Festival, “Beethoven and Penderecki. The Sphere of Sacrum”, and will be streamed on Lincoln Center’s website and PCINY’s YouTube channel.

Lincoln Center joins an international array of other organizations who have partnered with PCINY on Krzysztof Penderecki in Memoriam, including Ludwig van Beethoven Association, DUX Recording Producers, Naxos of America, Schott Music publishers and Crossover Media.

The first two in the series of Penderecki in Memoriam Podcasts have been released, featuring internationally renowned Irish pianist Barry Douglas CBE and Armenian conductor and violinist Sergey Smbatyan. Winner of the Gold Medal at the 1986 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition, Douglas collaborated closely with Penderecki including the 2007 premiere performance and recording of the composer’s large-scale, single movement work Piano Concerto “Resurrection”. Penderecki’s Armenian ancestry inspired a close bond with Smbatyan, who conducted the Armenian State Symphony in the 2018 Armenian premiere of the massive Symphony No. 7, “Seven Gates of Jerusalem”.

The podcasts, hosted and produced by Crossover Media’s Max Horowitz and curated and produced by PCINY’s head of music programming Anna Perzanowska, are available from Apple and Spotify, as well as Amazon Music, Podcast Index, Player FM, Deezer, Gaana, JioSaavn, and Google Podcast and PCINY’s YouTube channel. Future Penderecki in Memoriam Podcasts will feature JoAnn Falletta, Larry Foster, Elliot Goldenthal, Jonny Greenwood, Michail Jurowski, Laura Kaminsky, Louis Langrée, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Kent Nagano, Rafael Payare, Julian Rachlin, Leonard Slatkin, Krzysztof Urbanski and Antoni Wit, among others.