Five new works by LPO Young Composers will be premiered, following a year of mentoring by LPO Composer-in-Residence Tania León

This year’s London Philharmonic Orchestra (LPO) Young Composers scheme culminates on Thursday 27 June 2024 at 8pm at the Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall with its annual Debut Sounds concert, this year entitled ‘Sound in Motion’. The 2023/24 cohort of Young Composers have collaborated with postgraduate choreographers from Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance to produce works combining music and dance. The concert will be conducted by LPO Fellow Conductors Luis Castillo-Brinceño and Charlotte Politi,who will share the programme.

The Young Composers have been mentored by Composer-in-Residence Tania León who, at the start of the year, set the five Young Composers a brief to each write an eight-minute orchestral work bringing together music and dance, exploring how these two art forms influence and inspire each other. The movement aspect is devised and performed by pairs of postgraduate choreographers from Trinity Laban; the collaboration will showcase what happens when five exciting composers meet eight talented choreographers.

The LPO is committed to supporting the next generation of orchestral musicians and composers through professional development opportunities. The LPO Young Composers scheme specifically aims to find and support the progression of talented orchestral composers, offering a platform to develop their compositional voice and wider industry knowledge, all under the mentorship of the LPO’s Composer-in-Residence.

Each composer has benefitted from four seminars with León; sessions with a selection of LPO musicians; a three-hour orchestral workshop in the spring to allow participants to experiment with new ideas, talk to players and receive feedback; professional development sessions and opportunities to engage with artists working with the LPO; and further workshop/rehearsals with the ensemble in the lead-up to the concert.

As a further celebration of emerging talent, the music will be performed by an ensemble of musicians from the LPO’s Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme, alongside LPO players, and conducted by LPO Fellow Conductors Luis Castillo-Brinceño and Charlotte Politi. The Foyle Future Firsts scheme bridges the transition between education and the professional platform for outstanding early-career orchestral musicians. The Conducting Fellowship has been specifically created to promote diversity and inclusivity in the classical music industry by annually supporting the development of two outstanding early-career conductors from backgrounds currently under-represented in the profession.

LPO Young Composers 2023/24:

  • Jasper Dommett
  • Eliana Echeverry
  • Zhenyan Li
  • Phoenix Rousiamanis
  • Crystalla Serghiou


  • Franziska Boehm
  • Yun Cheng
  • Irene Fiordilino
  • Sofia Pomeroy
  • Valentina Streitwieser
  • James Adamson
  • Sarah do Carmo Santos
  • Nina Murphy

Priority booking for LPO Friends opens on Thursday 25 April at 10am, and general sale on Tuesday 30 April at 10am. Tickets are £6 and available via or by phone from the LPO Ticket Office on 020 7840 4242.

The 2023/24 LPO Young Composers programme is generously supported by Allianz Musical Insurance, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, the Vaughan Williams Foundation and The Marchus Trust.

The 2023/24 Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme is generously funded by the Foyle Foundation with additional support from the Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust, the Idlewild Trust and the Golsoncott Foundation. Foyle Future Firsts Instrument Chairs are kindly supported by David Burke & Valerie Graham (Clarinet), John & Sam Dawson (Percussion), Judy Wrightson & Tony Llewellyn (Violin).

The 2023/24 Conducting Fellowship is generously supported by Patricia Haitink with additional support from Gini and Richard Gabbertas.