Thomas Trotter on the Harrison & Harrison organ, King’s College Chapel © Benjamin Sheen

Thomas Trotter, recipient of the 2020 Queen’s Medal for Music, to release new album on the label of King’s College, Cambridge. DURUFLÉ: COMPLETE ORGAN WORKS was performed on the chapel’s iconic Harrison & Harrison organ. Available on CD, streaming and download 11 June.

1.      Fugue sur le thème du Carillon des Heures de la Cathédrale de Soissons, Op. 12

2.     Méditation

Prélude et fugue sur le nom d’Alain, Op. 7

3.     I. Prélude

4.     II. Fugue

5.     Scherzo, Op. 2

6.     Prélude sur l’Introït de l’Epiphanie, Op. 13

Prélude, adagio et choral varié sur le theme du ‘Veni Creator’, Op. 4

7.     I. Prélude

8.     II. Adagio

9.     III. Choral varié

10.   Chant Donné: Hommage à Jean Gallon

Suite, Op. 5

11.     I. Prélude

12.    II. Sicilienne

13.   III. Toccata

Thomas Trotter is a prize-winning concert organist and one of the UK’s most admired performing musicians, reflected in Her Majesty The Queen awarding him The Queen’s Medal for Music on St Cecilia’s Day 2020.

For this recording of Duruflé’s complete organ works he returns to the chapel in which his extraordinary performing career began.

“Along with Olivier Messiaen and Jehan Alain, Maurice Duruflé is one of the giants of 20th century French organ music. His body of music is small but perfectly formed, and its eloquence and emotional depth have been an inspiration to me throughout my performing career. I have felt that the time is now right for a recording that I have had an ambition to make for many years, and to do so on one of the world’s most famous organs – indeed the one on which I learned my craft – is a joy and a privilege.”

—    Thomas Trotter