Sunday 9 May 2021, 7:30pm
From the Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford

Haydn Symphony No. 44 in E minor
Haydn Symphony No. 49 in F minor

Marios Papadopoulos director
Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra

Free tickets available at:
In a new concert to be released online as part of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra‘s Spring series on Sunday 9 May 2021, Marios Papadopoulos conducts the Orchestra in an all-Haydn programme: his ‘Trauer’ Symphony No. 44 in E minor, reported to have been requested by the composer at his funeral, and Symphony No. 49 in F minor, ‘La passione’, perhaps intended for a religious performance.

Further highlights of the online Spring series include a programme explaining the mathematics behind the legendary sound of Stradivarius instruments with Marcus du Sautoy, an all-star rendition of Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra with Nicola Benedetti and Lawrence Power, and an interplanetary family concert mini-series celebrating Earth Day.

The Orchestra perform from Oxford’s Grade I listed Sheldonian Theatre, the Oxford Philharmonic’s main orchestral venue, built between 1664 and 1668 after a design by Sir Christopher Wren. Haydn himself conducted there, and Handel conducted the first performance of his third oratorio Athalia there in 1733.

Concerts from the four-part series are streamed on the Orchestra’s YouTube channel on Sundays in April, May and June at 7.30pm, with free tickets available for each concert through the Orchestra’s website at Following their premieres, the concerts will be available indefinitely, with the exception of Nicola Benedetti’s programme which is available for 28 days from 23 May 2021.

The Orchestra’s Spring concerts have been filmed by Apple & Biscuit Recordings and are made possible by a lifeline grant from the Government’s Culture Recovery Fund and the Arts Council.