(SF, 30 July 2021) The Salzburg Festival deeply regrets having to announce that Martha Argerich has been forced to cancel her soloist recital with Renaud Capuçon on Tuesday, 3 August at the Haus für Mozart, due to health reasons. The Festival would have been delighted to celebrate this great pianist’s 80th birthday with her in Salzburg.

The Salzburg Festival is very pleased to announce that Igor Levit has agreed to perform with Renaud Capuçon, replacing Martha Argerich. Due to the short notice, the programme had to be altered. The new programme is as follows:

Soloist Recital

Tuesday, 3 August, 8:30 pm, Haus für Mozart

Franz Schubert: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 4 in A major D 574

Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in A major op. 100


Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 9 in A major op. 47, “Kreutzer Sonata”

Renaud Capuçon, Violin

Igor Levit, Piano

Tickets for this event remain valid.

Renaud Capuçon records Elgar’s Violin Concerto and Violin Sonata for Erato – with LSO & Simon Rattle, and Stephen Hough.