At a ceremony in London today, the winners of this year’s Ivor Novello Awards have been announced.
Dave was crowned Songwriter of the Year. Having dropped the surprise Top 10 single Titanium in 2021, Dave’s second album We’re All Alone In This Together then hit number one in the UK.
Best Contemporary Song went to Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz for I Love You, I Hate You.
Sam Fender won Best Song Musically and Lyrically for Seventeen Going Under.
Pink Noise, performed and written by Laura Mvula with Dann Hume, won Best AlbumEd SheeranFred again.. and Johnny McDaid, together won PRS For Music Most Performed Work for their collaboration on Bad Habits.
The Rising Star Award with Apple Music – recognising under-25 songwriters – has been awarded to singer-songwriter Naomi Kimpenu, whose debut EP Prelude was released last year.
Daniel Blumberg won Best Original Film Score for his work on The World To Come.
Arthur Sharpe picked up Best Television Soundtrack for his score for Sky Atlantic’s black comedy drama, Landscapers.
The award for Best Original Video Game Score went to Richard Jacques for Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy.
Elizabeth FraserRobin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde from Cocteau Twins received the Visionary Award.
Paul Heaton was awarded Outstanding Song Collection for his work with The Housemartins through to The Beautiful South and his current collaboration with Jacqui Abbot.
The PRS for Music Icon Award recognised two of rock’s most inspiring, influential, and identifiable songwriters – The Cure’s Robert Smith and Simon Gallup.
With a catalogue of over 140 songs and more than 80 million record sales, the Special International Award with Apple Music was awarded in recognition of the global impact and songwriting achievements of Columbian superstar Shakira.
Peter Gabriel received Fellowship of The Ivors Academy – the highest honour we bestow – in recognition of his outstanding contributions as a musician, innovator, humanitarian and songwriter.