The service is conducted by The Very Reverend Dr David Hoyle MBE, Dean of Westminster.

The service is sung by the Choir of Westminster Abbey and the Choir of the Chapel Royal,
St James’s Palace, (Joseph McHardy, Director of Music) under the direction of James O’Donnell,
Organist and Master of the Choristers, Westminster Abbey.

The State Trumpeters of the Household Cavalry are led by Trumpet Major Julian Sandford.

The Fanfare Team of the Household Division Bands is conducted by Lieutenant Colonel David
Barringer MBE, Commanding Officer, Household Division Bands.

The organ is played by Peter Holder, Sub-Organist, Westminster Abbey.

Before the service, the tenor bell is tolled every minute for 96 minutes, reflecting the years of
Queen Elizabeth II’s life.
Members of Foreign Royal Families, Heads of State, and Overseas Government Representatives are
received at the Great West Door by the Dean and Chapter of Westminster and are conducted to
their seats in the Lantern. All remain seated.

Music before the service:
Matthew Jorysz, Assistant Organist, Westminster Abbey, plays
Fantasia of four parts Orlando Gibbons (1583–1625)
Organist of Westminster Abbey 1623–25
Romanza (Symphony no 5 in D) Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872–1958)
arranged by Robert Quinney (b 1976)
Reliqui domum meum Peter Maxwell Davies (1934–2016)
Meditation on ‘Brother James’s Air’ Harold Darke (1888–1976)
Prelude on ‘Ecce jam noctis’ Op 157 no 3 Healey Willan (1880–1968)
Psalm Prelude Set 1 no 2 Herbert Howells (1892–1983)
In the Country Op 194 no 2 Charles Villiers Stanford (1852–1924)
Fantasy on ‘O Paradise’ Malcolm Williamson (1931–2003)
Elegy Op 58 Edward Elgar (1857–1934)
arranged by Matthew Jorysz (b 1992)

The Sub-Organist plays
Andante espressivo (Sonata in G Op 28) Edward Elgar
Sospiri Op 70 Edward Elgar
arranged by Peter Holder (b 1990)