Internationally recognized as one of the world’s leading conducting competitions, the Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition today announced the twenty finalists who will compete in the first round on 21 March 2023.

As always, finalists will conduct the London Symphony Orchestra and are drawn from the best conductors aged 30 or under who are citizens of the UK; countries having full membership of the European Union; and Norway, Iceland, Lichtenstein or Switzerland.

The 20 finalists announced today come from ten countries: Czechia, France, Germany, Greece, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Switzerland and the UK.

The winner of the Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition is awarded £15,000 and the opportunity to become Assistant Conductor with the London Symphony Orchestra for up to one year. During this time with the LSO the successful conductor will work with the LSO’s Principal and guest conductors on the preparation of concerts, often on the assessment of new scores; take part in the LSO’s education and outreach programme, LSO Discovery; accompany the orchestra on tour and, should the opportunity arise, conduct the LSO in concert.

One of the finalists will also become a Welsh National Opera Associate Conductor for a season, where they will have the opportunity to work with WNO’s Music Director, Tomas Hanus, as well as on a range of productions, concerts and engagement activity in Cardiff and at some of the Company’s touring venues in Wales and England.

Donatella Flick, Founder of the Competition said:

“I’m delighted to welcome our 20 conductors to London from across Europe to compete in the latest edition of the Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition. They represent the best of an incredible generation who are not only supremely talented but have also shown great resilience and creativity in dealing with the multiple challenges posed by the global pandemic on developing young careers. I salute all of them and look forward to welcoming them to the Competition in March, as well as audiences worldwide who can watch the final round via”

After the first day of competition the Competition’s jury selects ten conductors to go through to the Second Round, and from these three finalists will be chosen for the Final Round.

The 2023 jury consists of: David Alberman (Jury Chair), LSO Principal Second Violin & LSO Chair; Sally Beamish, Composer; Sian Edwards, Conductor; Juliana Koch, LSO Principal Oboe; Sir Antonio Pappano, LSO’s Chief Conductor Designate and Libor Pešek, Conductor.

The final round will be streamed on