Detroit, (October 13, 2020) – The Detroit Symphony Orchestra (DSO) today announced that Xian Zhang [pictured] will step in for previously scheduled conductor Christian Reif to lead DSO Digital Concerts on Thursday, November 5 and Friday, November 6 at 7:30 p.m. Reif is unable to fly to Detroit due to travel restrictions. The programs are unchanged.

The November 6 performance will feature the world premiere of Tyshawn Sorey’s For Marcos Balter (with guest soloist Jennifer Koh, violin), co-commissioned by the DSO and the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra (NJSO), where Zhang currently serves as music director. The DSO thanks the NJSO for their partnership on this commission and agreeing to this first performance in Detroit.

Other works across the two nights include the world premiere of the orchestral version of Nokuthula Ngwenyama’s Primal Message, Florence Price’s Five Folksongs in Counterpoint for string quartet, and Dvořák’s Serenade for Strings in E major, Op. 22.

A trailblazer in the world of orchestral webcasting since 2011, the DSO launched a new streaming series, DSO Digital Concerts, on September 10, available exclusively on to view both live and on-demand for two weeks. Subscribers and select donors receive access to all DSO Digital Concerts, with individual tickets available for $12. DSO Replay—the orchestra’s archive of past seasons’ webcasts—remains free for all at

For a full schedule of DSO Digital Concerts, visit

The DSO Classical Series is generously sponsored by PVS Chemicals, Inc.


Xian Zhang, conductor
Jennifer Koh, violin [Friday only]

Program A (Thursday, November 5 at 7:30 p.m.)
NOKUTHULA NGWENYAMA: Primal Message (world premiere of orchestral version)
DVOŘÁK: Serenade for Strings in E major, Op. 22

Program B (Friday, November 6 at 7:30 p.m.)
PRICE: Five Folksongs in Counterpoint
TYSHAWN SOREY: For Marcos Balter for Violin and Orchestra (world premiere) (Jennifer Koh, violin)